John Paul Jones III

Dean, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Don Bennett Moon Dean

john paul jones

John Paul (JP) Jones III (Ph.D. Ohio State University) is the Dean of the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences and a Professor in the School of Geography, Development & Environment.

Jones holds key service roles at the University of Arizona, including Chair of the Dean’s + Development Committee and memberships on the UA/UA Foundation Relations Committee, the Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee, and University Development Council. He was Chair of the Provost Search Advisory Committee and served on the UA Presidential Search Committee. Locally, Jones has served as a Board member on the Tucson Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and its Business Advocacy Committee.

Before being named Dean of SBS in 2010, Jones was Director of the College’s then School of Geography and Development. His research centers on geographic methodology and the integration of spatial theory and social theory. Recently, he has studied the globalization of the civil society sector in Oaxaca, Mexico; the socio-political foundations of mosquito management in southern Arizona; and the co-productions of scientists and artists in the areas of climate change, geovisualization, and bioart. Learn more.

Jones has written more than 100 articles and book chapters, edited seven books, and received numerous research grants from the National Science Foundation. He is the past editor of his field’s flagship journal, the Annals of the Association of American Geographers, and is past co-editor of Dialogues in Human Geography. He is the editor of Wiley-Blackwell’s book series, “Critical Introductions to Geography.” Jones was recognized by his professional organization, the Association of American Geographers, with a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015.

Before coming to the UA in 2003, Jones taught at the University of Kentucky and San Diego State University. He has held visiting appointments at University College Dublin, the University of Nimegen in the Netherlands, the Universitat de Girona in Spain, and the London School of Economics.