Sociology & Culture Experts

Faculty experts in the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences can provide insightful analysis, opinions and comment on a diverse array of topics. For information on Sociology & Culture, contact the experts listed here. If you need more help, please email Lori Harwood, director of External Relations, or call (520) 626-3846.

Topics

Experts

 Diane Austin, Anthropology

  • Expertise: environmental issues; community development; Deepwater horizon oil spill; U.S. Mexico border environment
  • daustin@email.arizona.edu, (520) 626-3879

 Keiron Bailey, School of Geography and Development

  • Expertise: Structured Public Involvement (SPI); public satisfaction with public design and management
  • kbailey@email.arizona.edu, (520) 626-4096

 Vincent Del Casino, Geography and Development

  • Expertise: social and cultural geography; health geography; sexuality studies; HIV/AIDS; interconnections between transportation, mobility, and homelessness
  • vdelcasino@email.arizona.edu, (520) 621-1112

 Joseph Galaskiewicz, Sociology

 Michael Hammond, Linguistics

  • Expertise: technical: phonology, psycholinguistics, computational linguistics, poetic meter, language games, English jargon-free: sounds of languages, poetry, language games
  • hammond@u.arizona.edu, (520) 621-5759

 Jake Harwood, Communication

  • Expertise: Communication and Aging; intergroup relations; music and communication
  • jharwood@u.arizona.edu, (520) 626-8681

 Benjamin Irvin, History

  • Expertise: American Revolution; Founding Fathers; Founding ear; manhood and masculinity
  • irvin@email.arizona.edu. (520) 621-1586

 Kate Kenski, Communication

 Brint Milward, School of Government and Public Policy

 Steve Rains, Communication

  • Expertise: e-health; computer-mediated communication and health; health on the Internet; persuasion and new technologies
  • srains@email.arizona.edu, (520) 626-3065

 Chris Segrin, Communication

  • Expertise: depression; loneliness; social skills; marriage; divorce; interpersonal relations; nonverbal community; effects of cancer on close relationships; helicopter parenting
  • segrin@u.arizona.edu, (520) 621-1366

 Susan Shaw, Anthropology

  • Expertise: ethnicity; health disparities; social movements; political economy of health in the United States.
  • shaws@email.arizona.edu,(520) 621-4395

 Brian Silverstein,  Anthropology

 Sally Stevens, Southwest Institute for Research on Women

  • Expertise: substance abuse; HIV prevention; research and evaluation with women; women and children and adolescents; gender differences
  • sstevens@email.arizona.edu; (520) 621-1284