Shared Governance, Service & Committees

SBS Faculty with Roles in Shared Governance

For 2019-2020, the following SBS faculty have roles in institutional shared governance. Please feel free to reach out to any of them with questions, concerns, or comments.

The Strategic Planning and Budget Advisory Committee (SPBAC)

Committee of 11

Faculty Senate

  • Javier Duran, Latin American Studies (Senator-at-large; also Faculty Senate Executive Committee member)
  • Jeremy Frey, Writing Program/English (Senator-at-large; also Nominating Committee member)
  • Leila Hudson, Middle Eastern and North African Studies (SBS Representative; also Faculty Senate Executive Committee and Student Affairs Policy Committee member)
  • Paul Hurh, English (SBS Representative)
  • Kristin Little, Writing Program/English (SBS Representative, Student Affairs Policy Committee member)

Academic Personnel Policy Committee (APPC)

Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure (CAFT)

Constitution and Bylaws Committee

Student Affairs Policy Committee

University-wide General Education Committee (UWGEC)

SBS Faculty Advisory Committee

Our Faculty Advisory Committee advises the Dean on emerging matters of college or university importance. It is an elected body composed of five faculty members (rank open), with representatives across the units.

Information on eligibility and voting procedures is available through the Faculty Advisory Committee policy.

2020-2021 members of the Faculty Advisory Committee:

Faculty interested in learning more about the Faculty Advisory Committee, including how to participate, are welcome to email the above members or email Mika Galilee-Belfer on the Faculty Affairs team in SBS.

SBS Diversity & Inclusion Committee

The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences places critical perspectives on social difference at the very center of our scholarship, teaching, and service. See our statement on Diversity & Inclusion.

Open letter to President Robbins regarding freedom of speech and the AZ3

Statement of Support for Native SOAR (Student Outreach, Access, and Resiliency) Students

2019-2020 members of Diversity & Inclusion Committee:

Looking for a new service opportunity? There are several committees within in SBS that you can consider:

  • Continuing Status & Promotion Committee
  • Diversity & Inclusion Committee
  • Faculty Advisory Committee
  • Promotion & Tenure Committee
  • Sabbatical Committee

If you are interested in serving on one of the SBS committees, please email Mika Galilee-Belfer on the Faculty Affairs team in SBS.