Internships by Major

The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences Internship Program offers many opportunities for students to explore careers in non-profit work, government service, education, social services, politics and the legislature, and other fields of interest by participating in real-world internships.

To get started, contact your department coordinator to learn about your options.

*For SBS students who cannot receive internship credit through their major or department, please visit the SBS 393 Internship page.

Departmental Internships

Our individual departments offer an array of internships for students in their specific majors and programs. Please contact the appropriate internship coordinator below based on your major and academic interests. Our departments are always looking for new ways to connect students with local organizations and provide powerful experiences beyond the classroom.

Internship Coordinators

Academic Department Contact Email Address

American Indian Studies

Ann Samuelson

anns@email.arizona.edu

Anthropology

Ann Samuelson

anns@email.arizona.edu

Communication

Kyle Tusing

kjt@email.arizona.edu

Economics

Shery Crater

craters@email.ariozna.edu

English & Creative Writing

Stephanie Pearmain

pearmain@email.arizona.edu

Gender & Women’s Studies  

Adam Geary

ageary@email.arizona.edu

Geography & Development

Dereka Rushbrook

dereka@email.arizona.edu

Government & Public Policy 

Susan Warren

susanwarren@email.arizona.edu

History

Katherine Morrissey

kmorriss@email.arizona.edu

Information Science

Catherine Brooks

cfbrooks@email.arizona.edu

Journalism 

Renee Schafer Horton

rshorton@email.arizona.edu

Judaic Studies              

David Graizbord

dlgraizb@email.arizona.edu

Latin American Studies

Colin Deeds

colind@email.arizona.edu

Linguistics

Diane Ohala

ohalad@email.arizona.edu

Mexican American Studies

Randy Yazzie

yazzier@email.arizona.edu

Middle Eastern & North African Studies

Yaseen Noorani

ynoorani@email.arizona.edu

Philosophy & PPEL

Laura Howard

lmhoward@email.arizona.edu

Sociology & Care, Health, Society

Heidi Hopkins

hhopkins@email.arizona.edu

SBS

Jesse McCain

jmccain@email.arizona.edu

Social and Behavioral Sciences 393 Internships

The college also offers SBS 393 Internships to students who are not eligible for internship credits through their major or minor departments. Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Good academic standing with the University of Arizona: at least a 2.00 grade point average (major and cumulative) at the University of Arizona before enrolling for an internship. 
  • Earned at least 30 credits.
  • Completed at least one full-time (12 units) semester at the University of Arizona.
  • Currently enrolled at The University of Arizona.

For more information about SBS 393 internships including application information, please visit the SBS 393 Internship Page.

Tuition, Fees, and Registration Deadlines